2017 Ride for Clean Energy

The final preparations for the annual Ride for Clean Energy benefiting the Tyler Lewis Clean Energy Research Foundation are well underway. The 5th annual ride is taking place on Saturday August 12th, 2017 and boasts seven Department riders comprised of both faculty and students. Each rider has pledged to fundraise a minimum of $250 each, all of which is donated to the Tyler Lewis Clean Energy Research Foundation. To donate to this worthy cause and support a Department rider, please visit www.RideForCleanEnergy.com/donate.html (be sure to specify which rider you are donating to!).

The foundation is a non-profit organization that awards a yearly grant to a graduate student enrolled in a Canadian post-secondary institution, in the field of renewable/sustainable energy research, with a $10,000 scholarship. The Foundation and Ride was established in memory of Tyler Lewis, a Department graduate student who tragically passed away in 2012. The Ride is set as the Foundation’s major annual fundraiser and is pivotal for the continued issuing of the Foundation’s yearly grant. To learn more about the foundation, please visit their website at www.TylerLewis.ca.

This year’s CHBE riders include:

  • Bill Cheng
  • Saad Dara
  • Naoko Ellis
  • Ruben Govindarajan
  • Sean McBeath
  • Farhang Nesvaderani
  • Adrian Serrano
  • Jonathan Verrett

Former CHBE alumni taking part in this year’s ride include:

  • Dave Bruce
  • James Butler
  • Dawn Marie Barreira