6th Annual Young Electrochemists Symposium

Event Summary

On August 4th, the 6th Annual Young Electrochemists Symposium was hosted by the Electrochemical Society (ECS) British Columbia Student Chapter at the Chemical and Biological Engineering building.The event counted with the participation of academic and industry speakers such as Dr. David Wilkinson (UBC), Dr. Hogan Yu (SFU), Dr. Loren Kaake (SFU), Dr. Dustin Banham (Ballard Power Systems), Benjamin Britton (Ionomr) and Saad Dara (Mangrove Water Technologies). In addition, students participated in a three minute thesis (3 MT) and poster competition. Congratulations to the student award recipients: Audrey Taylor (SFU, 1st place, $150), Bryan Kung (SFU, 2nd place, $100) and Amelia Hohenadel (SFU, 3rd place, $50). The ECS BC Student Chapter expresses its gratitude to the speakers, students and sponsors (ECS, Gamble Technologies, the SFU Chemistry caucus & SFU GSS and the UBC Chemical and Biological Engineering Department) who made this event possible. We look forward to continue engaging with students, academia and industries in future events. –ECS BC Student Chapter