News Archive

July 13, 2009

Canadian Academy of Engineering

Peter Englezos, CHBE’s new Head, has been elected a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering, and was inducted into the Academy on Monday, July 13, 2009. Congratulations!! Other Professors from our department who have been inducted include Dr. Norman Epstein (2005), Dr. John Grace (2001), Dr. Richard Kerekes (1993), Dr. Paul Watkinson (2004), and […]

[Continue Reading]

July 1, 2009

New Director of Clean Energy Research Centre

We wish to congratulate Dr. David Wilkinson on his recent appointment as Director of the Clean Energy Research Centre (CERC). Dr. Wilkinson’s appointment as Director of CERC will be for a 5 year term, commencing July 1, 2009.

[Continue Reading]

June 28, 2009

Boyd-Scott Graduate Research Award

Fahimeh Yazdanpanah, a PhD Candiate at the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, has recently received the Boyd-Scott Graduate Research Award for her paper “Effect of Moisture Content and Fine Material on Permeability of Wood Pellets to Airflow”. Fahimeh presented her paper at the ASABE Conference in Reno/Nevada in June 2009. Congratulations!

[Continue Reading]

G8 University Students’ Summit

As previously posted, Davis Chiu, a PhD candidate in CHBE, was selected to represent Canada at the 2009 G8 University Students’ Summit in Palermo, Italy. Read about his experience from his point of view, and check out some photos from the Summit. Congratulations once again.

[Continue Reading]


Dr. Shahab Sokhansanj (an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, and a member of the Clean Energy Center) was inducted as a Fellow of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) at the Annual International Meeting of the Society in Reno, Nevada (June 20-24th). The Fellow Award is given […]

[Continue Reading]

May 28, 2009

Discovery Accelerator Supplement Award

Congratulations to Jimmy Feng, Professor in the CHBE Department, for receiving the Discovery Accelerator Supplement award from NSERC. Excellent news and well deserved. For more information on the award, please visit the NSERC website.

[Continue Reading]

May 26, 2009

Killam Teaching Award goes to Dusko Posarac

Congratulations to Dusko Posarac, Senior Instructor in the CHBE Department, for receiving the UBC Killam Teaching Prize. Such prestigious recognition is a clear reflection of the outstanding teaching. [View original News Release]

[Continue Reading]

April 9, 2009

G8 University Students’ Summit, Palermo 8 and 9 May, 2009

Congratulations to Davis Chiu, a PhD candidate in CHBE, who has been selected to represent Canada at the 2009 G8 University Students’ Summit in Palermo Italy at the Istituto Siciliano di Storia Patria, along with a student from the University of Alberta . The UBC President will sponsor Davis’s attendance at the conference. Students selected […]

[Continue Reading]

March 2, 2009

AIChE’s Regional Student Conference

AIChE’s Regional Student Conference is an annual event aimed at engineering students from colleges and universities across the Pacific Northwest Region. CHBE hosted the event on Feb. 28 – March 1, 2009. The goal of this event was to provide an opportunity for serious-minded students to come together to share their technical knowledge, compare notes […]

[Continue Reading]

October 1, 2008

Dr. Madjid Mohseni awarded $5.23 million to research safe drinking water for rural communities in Canada

Chemical and Biological Engineering (CHBE) professor Madjid Mohseni and his collaborators, Dave Wilkinson and Elod Gyenge from CHBE and Pierre Bérube from Civil Engineering, have been awarded an NSERC Strategic Network Grant for their proposal: RES’EAU-WaterNet:A Network Ensuring Safe Drinking Water for Small and Rural Communities. The network has been awarded $5.28M over five years,of […]

[Continue Reading]