Biotechnology

Biotechnology and Biomedical Engineering

Biotechnology, genomics, biomedicine, environmental science and sustainability dominate the list of research clusters that UBC has identified as strengths and opportunities for future discovery, innovation and education in the life sciences.  Research in the Department of Chemical & Biological Engineering is central to these efforts.  The Department is an integral and dynamic member of UBC’s discovery and innovation ecosystem in the life sciences.

Research in biology and biotechnology has evolved from being reductionist to integrationist.  The availability of high-throughput experimentation facilities within the Department as well as the broader ecosystem at UBC allows our student researchers to develop a systems-level understanding of the complex interplay between the genome, proteome and metabolome, and to investigate biological processes at unprecedented rates and scales.  Our Department research portfolio in the biotechnology and the life sciences is among the broadest in Canada, and many of our faculty are leading strategic research projects in domains such as bioenergy, biomanufacturing, pharmaceutical synthesis, environmental remediation, biomedical engineering, tissue engineering and synthetic biology.  Many of our faculty are recognized as global thought leaders in biological engineering, and several have also been bestowed with recognitions such as Canada Research Chairs and Biomedical Engineering awards.

For more information on Biotechnology and Biomedical Engineering research, contact:


Researcher Research Interest

Susan A. Baldwin
sue.baldwin@ubc.ca
Bioprocess Engineering, Anaerobic Fermentation, Bioremediation, Reactor Modeling, Biochemical Reaction Modeling, Reaction Kinetics

Louise Creagh
louise.creagh@ubc.ca
Thermodynamics and kinetics of protein stability and protein-ligand binding

James Feng
james.feng@ubc.ca
Dynamics of Complex Fluids, Multiphase and Interfacial Fluid Mechanics, Cell and Tissue Mechanics

E. Johan Foster
johan.foster@ubc.ca
Bioproducts, Cellulose Nanomaterials, Polymers, Biomaterials, Biomedical Devices, Fibers

John M. Frostad
john.frostad@ubc.ca
Interfacial Phenomena, Functional Foods, Emulsions and Foams, Novel Instrumentation, Complex Fluids

Bhushan Gopaluni
bhushan.gopaluni@ubc.ca
Modeling and Experiment Design, Model Predictive Controllers, Identification for Control, Iterative Identification and Control, Data Analytics, Fault Detection and Diagnosis

Charles Haynes
charles.haynes@ubc.ca
Biotechnology, Genomics, Biophysics, Bioengineering and Biomolecular Engineering Applied to Biologic Drug Discovery and Manufacturing, Therapeutics Design, Cancer Diagnostics, and Affinity Ligand Discovery

Jane Hill
Jane.hill@ubc.ca
Biotechnology, breath analysis and transcriptomics, respiratory infections – viral, bacterial, and fungal

James M. Piret
james.piret@ubc.ca
Bioprocessing, Biomedical, Bioreactor and Device Engineering, Bioprocess Optimization and Cell Therapy Biotechnology

Heather Trajano
heather.trajano@ubc.ca
Biomass Conversion, Biorefinery, Pretreatment, Chemocatalysis, Pulp and Paper, Kinetic Modeling, Transport Phenomena

Vikramaditya G. Yadav
vikramaditya.yadav@ubc.ca
Biocatalysis, Bioremediation, Bioprocess engineering, Drug delivery, Infectious disease pathogenesis & drug discovery, Green chemistry, Medical biotechnology, Metabolic engineering, Synthetic biology, Tissue engineering